top of page

New Talent Award

Terms of the Award

We invite applicants to submit their papers to be considered for the New Talent Award. The topic of the paper has to be in a field that is covered by the SciCADE conference.

The winner of the best paper will be invited to give a plenary talk at SciCADE 2024 in Singapore.


Local accommodation up to 6 nights will be covered for this speaker, and the registration fee will be waived as well.

Who is Eligible to Apply 

The recipient must be a graduate student, or should have obtained a PhD or equivalent degree within the four calendar years prior to the year of the award, i.e., on or after January 1, 2020. The committee may consider exceptions to the four-year rule, for career interruptions or delays occurring, e.g., for child bearing or child rearing, or military service. The award can be received only once in a lifetime.

Submission Guidelines 
  1. Those wishing to be considered for the New Talent Award are invited to email an electronic manuscript and proof of when their PhD was completed (plus any eventual reasons for an exception to the four-year rule) to the conference secretariat, Miss Jia Min, Ong at

  2. The deadline for submission is Jun 1, 2024.

  3. Any submitted manuscript should have been accepted in a scientific journal. Proof of acceptance should be submitted, together with the paper, if it is not yet published.

  4. A candidate may submit a jointly-authored paper, but the entry must primarily be the original work of the candidate. In this case, we ask that the manuscript be sent along with a statement from the co-authors agreeing to the submission and detailing the candidate’s contribution to the paper.

All entries for the New Talent Award will be considered by the prize committee.

Past Winners of the New Talent Award:
  • ​2022: Yue Feng 

  • 2019: Milo Viviani

  • 2017: Dietmar Gallistl

  • 2015: Lukas Einkemmer

  • 2013: Ludwig Gauckler

  • 2011: Takaharu Yaguchi

  • 2009: Daan Huybrechs

  • 2007: Melvin Leok

  • 2005: Assyr Abdulle

  • 2003: Tobias Jahnke

  • 2001: Matthew West

  • 1999: Nicola Guglielmi and Grant Lythe

  • 1997: Antonella Zanna and Anne Aubry

bottom of page