top of page

Butcher Prize

The John Butcher Prize in Numerical Analysis was established to recognize John Butcher’s long and productive career in numerical analysis, and in particular in the numerical solution of ordinary differential equations. He is well known in the international community for his contributions in this area.


In 1966, John was appointed Professor of Mathematics and Head of the Mathematics department at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. Apart from a period of ten years as inaugural Professor of the Computer Science department, he has been associated with the Auckland Mathematics department ever since.


In keeping with John’s consistent encouragement of students, the award is for the best student talk at SciCADE. In particular, considering both the academic merit of the content and the presentation itself.


The John Butcher Prize in Numerical Analysis and the associated funds are administered by the New Zealand branch of ANZIAM.

How To Participate

Conference participants who want to take part in the competition should write an e-mail to with the subject “Butcher prize” no later than June 20, 2024. In this e-mail they should express their wish to be considered for the prize. The name and the affiliation of the thesis advisor/supervisor should be stated. Note that participation is only possible if the participant has submitted a talk.

Past Winners of the John Butcher Prize:
  • 2022: Dennis Trautwein

  • 2019: Giacomo Rosilho de Souza

  • 2017: Tim Jax

  • 2015: David Hipp

  • 2013: Yuto Miyatake

  • 2011: Mohammad Shakourifar

  • 2009: Ludwig Gauckler

  • 2007: Thomas Schmelzer, Anders Hansen

  • 2005: Tatiana Márquez-Lago

bottom of page